front suspension progress

A few problems due to the rare graphical material appeared during the progress of the front suspension parts inside of the monocoque. Regarding to this picture I reasoned, that the R18 has an internal anti roll bar like F1 cars. But due to a picture of the R15+ on ten-tenths.com I realized, that the ARB must be mounted at the outside at the front bulkhead (you can see it here under the electric power steering). So I had to remove my ARB and design a new one.

From pictures I assume, that the R18 has non adjustable ARBs. A bit strange for a racing car, but I can’t find any advice that tells me the opposite. The regs prohibits driver adjustable suspension parts, but maybe there’s somewhere an adjusting screw for the mechanics.

Beside that I’m working at the damper/spring unit. The rocker arms and the single dampers with their torsion bars are already mounted. The heave spring-damper is under progress.

The pedal arrangement is finished but a sensor for each brake master cylinder is missing. The first part of the electric power steering unit is also finished. The steering column is in work.

The wrong F1 style anti roll bar (red).

The single damper and the have spring/damper. For comparison of sizes, there's a twenty pence coin (diameter of about 22.5mm).

The closed front with the spring-damper arrangement.

Here you can see the first part of the electric power steering.

Tags:

About paulsf1

My name is Paul Bischof. I’m a student in mechanical engineering at the Technical University of Graz in Austria, expected finishing in February 2016. Since I was eight years old, I am building model planes out of paperboard. Since 2004 I scratch (that means building without an assembling set) Formula 1 and sportscars in 1:10th scale. The average time I need for such a car is around 400 to 700 hours within 4 to 8 months. One car has around 3500 up to 5000 single components. On this blog, you can take a look on my work and later, after my studies, hopefully you can see me in Formula 1.

3 responses to “front suspension progress”

  1. vmmfanuk says :

    Looking pretty good Paul. I’ve started to collect bits of card and paperboard ready to build my models. I thank you for doing this, and making it public to give me the idea to do it with my designs!

    Like

  2. vmmfanuk says :

    Will do Paul. Is there a specific glue that you use?

    Like

Leave a comment