Lotus 79 construction report – part 2

A little life sign of me. Don’t worry, I did not forgot about updating my blog. But at the mo I’m very hard learning for my Strength of Materials/Structural Analysis exam which takes place this Saturday. Currently my studies requests me quite a lot. Somewhere in May I’ll have time again for building on the Audi R18.

For gap bridging here’s the next part of the summarized construction report of my Lotus 79.

Tube manufacturing part 1

In April 2010, I began with the manufacturing of the tube. Due to the insane amount of information I had, I could detail every rivet on the monocoque structure. I parted this part of the CR because of the big amount of work which is in there.

Firstly I made the main structure, more specifically the lower part of the tube and the fuel tank housing. Then I filled the tube with the whole equipment such like gearbox linkage (yeah that cars had manual gearboxes, that was real hard work in the race), the whole front suspension arrangement (the 79 had upper rocker arms operated damper spring arrangement, adjustable anti roll bar and lower wishbones), the pedal arrangement and some protective housings.

The very first part of the car (lower tube part). As you can see, I detailed every rivet.

The main structure of the monocoque. You can see the front bulkhead, the front roll-over structure, between that the housings for the damper- spring arrangement, and at the rear the fuel tank housing.

The adjustable front anti roll bar. It's adjustable by a wheel at the drivers left hand side in seven steps. The adjustment works with turning the right hand side blade (the black one) and therefore changing axial section modulus.

The brake fluid distributor for the front axle.

The YUASA battery. It's a standard motorbike battery. That time F1 cars didn't need much electrical power. The engine was started by a compressed air starter motor. So the battery only has to drive the 5W rain light, the safety mechanism and a few cockpit instruments.

The fitted battery. At the right outside of the front bulkhead you can see the front brake fluid distributor.

The pedal arrangement. Behind that, you can see the anti roll bar.

Here's the complete finished front area shortly before closing it with the upper part of the tube, which is already finished lying beside the car (right top of the picture).

The finished front part. The wheel on the left hand side of the cockpit bulkhead is for adjusting the front anti roll bar. The black line which appears from the inside of the footwell area is the operation line for the fire extinguisher, the thick red one at the right is the throttle.

The front area is finished.

Tags: , , , , ,

About paulsf1

My name is Paul Bischof. I’m a student in mechanical engineering at the Technical University of Graz in Austria, expected finishing in February 2016. Since I was eight years old, I am building model planes out of paperboard. Since 2004 I scratch (that means building without an assembling set) Formula 1 and sportscars in 1:10th scale. The average time I need for such a car is around 400 to 700 hours within 4 to 8 months. One car has around 3500 up to 5000 single components. On this blog, you can take a look on my work and later, after my studies, hopefully you can see me in Formula 1.

3 responses to “Lotus 79 construction report – part 2”

  1. dhivakar says :

    Congrats…Awesome job paul…always great..
    I want one help from you. Can you send me your data collections of the lotus 79?

    …thanks

    Like

  2. dhivakar says :

    my email ID : dhivak12@gmail.com

    Thanks…

    Like

Leave a Reply

