Lotus E21 construction report part 21

More to come in the next weeks…

Design start of cockpit internals, fitting radiators and finishing rear suspension components.

As uni stuff (exams) is coming to an end slowly, I’ve a bit more time left now and car progress will speed a bit up during the next time.

Over the last few weeks, I’ve done quite a lot of (more or less) small detail work on the car. First of all, I’ve found a suitable grid for protecting my radiators (metal grid with about 1mm mesh size). After fitting this to the rad ducts, I was finally able to fix the radiators to the car. A bit of detail work is still missing there, i.e. proper sealing, pipes, etc..

The next building site was the finishing of all the rear suspension components with clear lacquer. As I don’t have a proper paint shop (room), I had to wait for acceptable outside temperatures for lacquering on our balcony.

Next point are the cockpit internals. As I have to wait a lot during finishing and mounting the rear suspension, I need a site where I can build at and not touching the car a lot. So seat is more ore less done (picture series below), steering wheel (picture series below) is well on the way and some small bits such as “dashboard” (that’s the tiny bit at the drivers right hand side with fire extinguisher and ignition button on it) or belts are missing.

There’s not too much stuff missing at the car now. Front suspension, brakes, wheels and engine cover. Nevertheless, I expect finishing the car not before middle of autumn – maybe October.

IMG_7093

Rh rad duct with fitted grid. Same proceedure at the lh side pod.

IMG_7094

Rh side pod viewed from the front. The cooling duct for the electronics is outside of the grid. You can see it a bit at the lower face of the duct directly in front of the grid.

IMG_7124

Rh side pod with fitted radiator. It will be a challenge to get the cooling pipes packed beside the exhaust system. There I made a little mistake. If you can call it a mistake… The exhaust manifold should be tilted a bit more outside the car. In my case, it almost touches the chassis. So there is very less space for the backflow pipe of the oil (rh) as well as of the water (lh) radiator. But I’ll find a proper solution to manage this little fail.

IMG_7126

Rear suspesion stuff and barge boards finished (8 shiny lacquer coats for the barge boards, 5 mat for the suspension arms).

IMG_7082

Here you can see my “seat shell tool” which I’ve designed entirely from 2d shapes. Beside, you can see the basic structural element of the seat shell in raw condition.

IMG_7085

First, I layed up the basic structural element (which could be seen at the picture above), followed by two side and one central element.

IMG_7086

Top view of the structural part of the seat in my seat tool.

IMG_7087

Seat demoulded from its tool. At the sides it needs to be trimmed.

IMG_7088

First fit of the raw seat shell.

IMG_7090

Final fit of the raw seat shell with stiffening boudaries (red stripes).

IMG_7092

Finished seat shell.

IMG_7091

Back view of the finished seat shell.

IMG_7097

Raw structural (base) element of the steering wheel – front view.

IMG_7098

Raw structural (base) element of the steering wheel – back view.

IMG_7099

Steering wheel base in the paint shop – or, as we have learned earlier, on the paint balcony. 😉

IMG_7104

Placing buttons on the steering wheel.

IMG_7105

Comparison between the Lotus E21 and the Red Bull RB7 steering wheel. The Lotus one looks a bit more bulky as it has the display on the wheel and not on the chassis. The team appraoches differs in this regard. RB7 steering wheel has 73 part (as far as I remember), the Lotus one has 60 parts in its current stage (shift paddles and some details are missing).

IMG_7117

Rh cockpit side: emercency sticker, E21 chassis badge and some lines – I don’t like to describe all the lines (all electronics).

IMG_7119

Lh cockpit side: FIA sticker, track sticker (guess, which one is it?) and again some lines (two hydraulics for brake and FRIC-S and some electronics).

IMG_7123

Cockpit view

Tags: , , , ,

About paulsf1

My name is Paul Bischof. I’m a student in mechanical engineering at the Technical University of Graz in Austria, expected finishing in February 2016. Since I was eight years old, I am building model planes out of paperboard. Since 2004 I scratch (that means building without an assembling set) Formula 1 and sportscars in 1:10th scale. The average time I need for such a car is around 400 to 700 hours within 4 to 8 months. One car has around 3500 up to 5000 single components. On this blog, you can take a look on my work and later, after my studies, hopefully you can see me in Formula 1.

Leave a Reply

