Introduction to my tools

Following a few requests, I give you here a short introduction to the tools I use to build a car. Bit different than the tools a real F1 team uses, but as you can see it’s adequate to build a small one.

qwer

That are basically all my tools. But sometimes I also use a few more color pens.

weqrc

The basics: These are the tools for the initial desing. Even if I do most of the calculations by hand, it is sometimes helpfull to have a pocket calculator to process calculations with huge decimals. I would guess the pencil is by far the most used tool.

qwer

The cutting devices: Two different scissors, one for paper (blue) and one for anything else (white). Actually the white one cuts much better, but I am used to work with the blue one, because it’s better in the hand. Two different scalpels, a hole punch and bit of insulating tape.

awer

The bonding stuff: UHU hart, two different types of sand paper and my hand made tool to sand holes.

asdf

Knowledge library: A few reference books. Often when I want to know something I take one of these books and have a read. I actually have quite a huge library home in Austria, but I took just the most essential books with me over to England.

asef

The carbon stuff: Just a few different types of carbon textures.

afef

Here we are, the most important tool: My hand

aef

My hand in use. šŸ™‚

Tags: ,

About paulsf1

My name is Paul Bischof. Iā€™m a student in mechanical engineering at the Technical University of Graz in Austria, expected finishing in February 2016. Since I was eight years old, I am building model planes out of paperboard. Since 2004 I scratch (that means building without an assembling set) Formula 1 and sportscars in 1:10th scale. The average time I need for such a car is around 400 to 700 hours within 4 to 8 months. One car has around 3500 up to 5000 single components. On this blog, you can take a look on my work and later, after my studies, hopefully you can see me in Formula 1.

4 responses to “Introduction to my tools”

  1. A.s says :

    Name the books please? I can able to figure out only one book that is race car vehicle dynamics by milliken.

    Like

    • paulsf1 says :

      Yeah, you’re right
      Race Car Vehicle Dynamics
      Race Car Vehicle Dynamics: Problems, Answers and Experiments
      Haynes Red Bull Racing F1 Car Owners’ Workshop Manual
      Rennwagentechnik: Grundlagen, Konstruktion, Komponenten, Systeme (german)
      Tune to Win

      Like

  2. L.G. says :

    did you seriously not flip the tube of glue over? šŸ™‚
    what brand/kind of glue do you use? Is it brittle like some cyanoacrylics or flexible like polyurethanes? does it yellow with age?
    also what kind of finishing spray(s) are you putting on your finished models? some appear to be glossy, but others have a matte or semi-matte appearance on parts?

    don’t mean to give ya the 3rd Degree, just looking for some good info on keeping these things together over time. i’ve had some models fall apart in places due to poor adhesives – that’s it, i blame the glue. šŸ˜‰ ..

    Thanks for sharing, Paul!! Most impressive!!

    Like

    • paulsf1 says :

      The glue is very, very strong and cures very quickly. It’s called UHU hart – don’t know if it’s available outside Austria/Germany. It’s neither very brittle, nor elastic. But it’s extremely hard and not for unpracticed users, because it contracts during curing. If you work with paper, it’s no problem, because the paper is the weak point. And it stays clear over years. I have some very simple spray cans. One kind of beamless and one kind of glossy lacquer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

