Lotus E21 construction report part 4

Finishing the structural framework of the chassis

Although I’m working a bit more at the RB10 at the moment, I managed to finish the structural framework of the monocoque/chassis of my Lotus. It’s much stiffer than it was at my RB7. Also it’s much more detailed and much better designed. When the RB7 monocoque was just the basic shape, I integrated some features like cutout for KERS battery or MGU (Motor Generator Unit). Also the internal structure is figured out much better. I tried to go down with the wall thicknes without loosing any stiffness or run the risk of getting flexible suspension mounting points. So I reinforced the structure just at the areas it’s needed. More on this later.

Next thing to do: cover everything with nice carbon coating. 🙂

WWC

Top view: Not much to say about that. At the sides you can see the pontoons where also fuel is stored and electrical stuff is mounted (at the outside).

fae

Rear view: Here you can see the cutout for the engine oil tank. This area will get a bit more detailed when I cover it with the outer surface. At the bottom you can see the cutout for the KERS battery.

aesfd

Side view: Also not very much to say about this.

EDASD

Front view: The front bulkhead with its bores for front rockers and the four points for the nose pins.

asfdef

Bottom view: Here you can see very good the cutout of the KERS batterie. I have almost no information about this bit. I just have a picture of the last years KERS batterie with a mechanic. From this basis I calculated the rough dimensions of the KERS battery. I estimate the size of the battery at about 380x190x155mm (lxwxh). That results in a specific density of about 3.7g/cm³. When you consider the whole clearance and framework within the batterie, that sounds not far-fetched.

asdf

Just a view from the rhs front corner.

asef

Of course presently I cannot bond the lower part to the upper one. Otherwise I would not be able to assemble the whole suspension stuff inside.

asdf

View inside the monocoque. You can clearly see the whole inserts  and reinforcements for suspension stuff and nose accommotadion.

Tags: , , , ,

About paulsf1

My name is Paul Bischof. I’m a student in mechanical engineering at the Technical University of Graz in Austria, expected finishing in February 2016. Since I was eight years old, I am building model planes out of paperboard. Since 2004 I scratch (that means building without an assembling set) Formula 1 and sportscars in 1:10th scale. The average time I need for such a car is around 400 to 700 hours within 4 to 8 months. One car has around 3500 up to 5000 single components. On this blog, you can take a look on my work and later, after my studies, hopefully you can see me in Formula 1.

5 responses to “Lotus E21 construction report part 4”

  1. L.G. says :

    lookin’ good!!.. always look forward to your updates!..

    if it’s not too much trouble – how about an update with the materials you use?
    i’ve seen mention of glue, cardstock, etc. but they’ve been peppered throughout different updates – a new Tools & Techniques type of post would consolidate all and maybe show us paper no0bs a few new tips or tricks to use on our own models?
    just a thought..

    as always – thanks for sharing your work, Paul – it’s an inspiration..

    Like

  2. Joe says :

    How do you make your monocoque looks more stiff/heavy? I mean…you must not using only one piece of paper to make the monocoque right?

    Thanks for answering.
    Joe

    Like

  3. f1ethier45 says :

    Thats incredible ! Are you using multiple layer of paper?

    Like

Leave a Reply

