Lotus 79 construction report – part 8

Side pods

Second last update on the manufacturing of my Lotus 79 (built in 2010).

In this report, you’ll see a bit of the manufacturing of the side pods. The side are, as you know, formed as upside down wings and are sealed by sliding skirts. I rebuilt the side pods with best of my knowledge and many help of original construction drawings.

aser

The chassis with it’s two raw side pods.

ser

Left hand side pod. You can clearly see the duct and inlet for the two (engine and gearbox) oil coolers.

aser

Right hand side pod for the water radiator. The outlet duct is seperate and fixed to the chassis.

saer

The skirts with housing. At the top you can see the housing with the inner guide roller board. I do not built the guide rollers, because they’re almost invisible afterwards. In the middle you can see the carbon-honeycomb skirt – of course this here is out of cardboard. And at the bottom, there’s the outer guide roller board.

aser

Skirt fitted to the guide roller board. The skirt itself is pressed to the ground by the two spring activated levers on top. The skirt is guided by the bolt and the cutout in the skirt.

aesr

Second guide roller board fitted.

aser

Side pods finished with a clear lacquer.

About paulsf1

My name is Paul Bischof. I’m a student in mechanical engineering at the Technical University of Graz in Austria, expected finishing in February 2016. Since I was eight years old, I am building model planes out of paperboard. Since 2004 I scratch (that means building without an assembling set) Formula 1 and sportscars in 1:10th scale. The average time I need for such a car is around 400 to 700 hours within 4 to 8 months. One car has around 3500 up to 5000 single components. On this blog, you can take a look on my work and later, after my studies, hopefully you can see me in Formula 1.

One response to “Lotus 79 construction report – part 8”

  1. SuperSwede says :

    Great pics, thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

