how to manufacture one layer of the R18TDI underbody

Today there’s a small documentation about how I do manufacture the last of three layers of the left hand side R18 TDI underbody.

In the last post, you could have read the start of the underbody with manufacturing of the few templates for the two main parts and the diffuser of my Audi. Working time per layer is about 2.5 hours.

asef

First I have to transfer the shape of my template to black cardboard sheet (0.3mm thick). If you wonder what’s that for a ribbon in the pic, it’s from my camera. I took my harmonica support and clamped my camera in it an took it around my neck. 🙂

ae

The small cutout is cutted out after transferring the shape to the cardboard.

waera

Then I have to cut the part out. A few small modifications have to be done to the shape, because with increasing thickness of the underbody after each layer, the shape changes a bit.

awer

That’s the raw part after cutting it out.

ware

Then I have to give the part it’s shape. That is done by hand and with help of a ruler and…

waer

…my rounded desk edge.

waer

That’s the preformed part. At the 7° bend at the underbody I made a light cut with my scalpel and bent it up with a ruler.

waer

Adding glue. That has to happen very quickly, because my glue harden very fast – about 2 min.

awer

When gluing the layer on the underbody, I had to be very careful, that the shape is highly conform with the underbody itself.

wre

Then the post treatment of the underbody starts. The hole for example has to be cutted and sanded.

awer

The outer edge is intentionally made a bit wider as it should be, that I can cut it down to the shape of the underbody.

waer

First I have to cut the edge and then…

awer

…sand it to satisfying surface quality.

aewr

Adaption of the hole.

awe

Of course also the hole has to be sanded after adapting.

awer

And that’s how it should looks like after finishing. Of course there are a few small things to do, such as sanding the glue dots, adding some small stuff and heat shields.

awer

Fitted to the chassis.

adf

This hole, where I do not know it’s function, should be a controlling opening for the radiators. That’s my imagination when I look on this pic.

Yeah, thats the way, how I do manufacture my underbody.

About paulsf1

My name is Paul Bischof. I’m a student in mechanical engineering at the Technical University of Graz in Austria, expected finishing in February 2016. Since I was eight years old, I am building model planes out of paperboard. Since 2004 I scratch (that means building without an assembling set) Formula 1 and sportscars in 1:10th scale. The average time I need for such a car is around 400 to 700 hours within 4 to 8 months. One car has around 3500 up to 5000 single components. On this blog, you can take a look on my work and later, after my studies, hopefully you can see me in Formula 1.

One response to “how to manufacture one layer of the R18TDI underbody”

Leave a Reply

