Red Bull RB6 Tamiya kit on sale

More than half a year after the completion of my Red Bull RB7 and more than a year after abortion of my RB6,  the RB6 is now on sale as a kit. Tamiya Corporation releases the kit this week on the Hobby Search fair. It’s scale is 1:20, so half size of my 1:10 cars.

I’m curious to see if the model can achieve the level of detail and the quality of my Red Bull. When I look at the pictures of the engine and gearbox, I doubt it. Especially the f duct looks shonky to me – the activation pipe to the cockpit is missing completely and the other pipes are much too thin. It’s also a pity, that Tamiya did not built an engine. The heat shieldings are irremovalbe. I do not want to bash Tamiya, but me, as a person who knows that car quite well, notices these things. But at least it looks better than my own RB6. 😉

pictures on scaleautofactory.com

RB6 in Hobby Search shop

Tamiyas 1:20 RB6 kit – © Tamiya

That’s how the engine bay looks. © Tamiya

That’s how the engine bay should look! – f1technical.net

My RB7 on the autumn fair Graz (Grazer Herbstmesse) two weeks ago.

Tags: ,

About paulsf1

My name is Paul Bischof. I’m a student in mechanical engineering at the Technical University of Graz in Austria, expected finishing in February 2016. Since I was eight years old, I am building model planes out of paperboard. Since 2004 I scratch (that means building without an assembling set) Formula 1 and sportscars in 1:10th scale. The average time I need for such a car is around 400 to 700 hours within 4 to 8 months. One car has around 3500 up to 5000 single components. On this blog, you can take a look on my work and later, after my studies, hopefully you can see me in Formula 1.

2 responses to “Red Bull RB6 Tamiya kit on sale”

  1. shaun says :

    Wow the RB7 looks amazing how long did that take to do, also in the pic the rear wing looks very much Monza spec

    Like

Leave a Reply

