second part of the September update

As the last update was even quite big, I decided to split the september work report and post a second update today.

Mainly it’s up to the rims today. Maybe you wonder why I started with the rims that early – usually the wheels are the last part of a car for manufacturing. Short explanation, I was displaying a few of my cars (Lotus 79, Porsche 917, Red Bull RB7 and Audi R18 TDI) at the autumn fair of Graz (Grazer Herbstmesse) and did a bit of show building for the spectators. And as the Audi was there displaying, I couldn’t work at the car itself and so I decided to do the rims. The rim dimensions are fixed by the regulations, respectively published by Audi Sport.

The front ones (14.75  x 18 inches) are finished, the rear ones (14.5 x 18 inches) aren’t. What is remarkably, the front rims are wider than the rear ones. But only 0.25 inches, what is 6.35mm (0.6mm at my scale). Compared to F1 rims, an LMP1 rim has a much greater diameter and about the same width. The manufacturing of the Audi rims was more costly than the Red Bull ones. First, because the number of spokes (11 Red Bull vs 15 Audi), and secondly because of the shape of the spokes. The ones of the RB7 were straight, when the R18s have a convex curved shape.

The finished front rims and the pre finished rear ones. At the left rim you can clearly see the curved shape of the spokes.

A finished front rim, the cylinder and the basic structure of the star of spokes of a rear rim.

Here is an indication, how enormously big this car will be.

Another view of the car.

Top view.

Tags: , , ,

About paulsf1

My name is Paul Bischof. I’m a student in mechanical engineering at the Technical University of Graz in Austria, expected finishing in February 2016. Since I was eight years old, I am building model planes out of paperboard. Since 2004 I scratch (that means building without an assembling set) Formula 1 and sportscars in 1:10th scale. The average time I need for such a car is around 400 to 700 hours within 4 to 8 months. One car has around 3500 up to 5000 single components. On this blog, you can take a look on my work and later, after my studies, hopefully you can see me in Formula 1.

Leave a Reply

