engine progress with problems

I’m quite happy with the current engine progress. But a few days ago, I recognised a problem. It seems that the oil tank on the Audi engine is at the same position as at the RS27 of the RB7 – at front end of the engine (I think, most race car engines has the oil tank at the front end). The problem there is, that I forgot to build the monocoque with a cutout at that area like I did it at the Red Bull. So, I was mulling on a solution on this problem for the last few days. I was even looking for an alternative oil tank position somewhere around the engine. But there’s no space anywhere and also no other logical position for the tank. Another solution would have been to do the cutout belated. But the risk to damage something on the monocoque with this was too big. So, the current thought is, to build the oil tank as a dummy. Like at the Red Bull, the oil tank can’t hardly be seen at the finished car.

I was also thinking about, really to tell you all this major mistake of me. Such a thing shouldn’t happen. But when you plan a car more or less just in time, part by part completely by hand and as a single person, such a mistake can happen. But as a becoming engineer, I should have thought about this at designing the monocoque…

As you can see, engine problems could also appear at paper modelling of cars. 😉

To the more pleasant features. I finished the turbo charger but with missing air pipes to the radiators. Everything went quite well. Now I’m going to fit the ancillary drives, namely the water pumps, the preassure and scavenge oil pump with oil filter. After that I’ll start to complete the engine with the whole electric wiring and fuel piping.

Another thing to tell. The monocoque is now almost finished with a clear lacquer and waiting for the engine.

The location of the problem. At the left, the engine (front end) without the oil tank, and at the left, the monocoque rear end without the necessary cutout.

The same feature, that time in the right way, at the Red Bull RB7. – August 15th, 2011, Red Bull RB7 Renault

The current state of the engine with it’s turbo charger. Rear end view.

The current state of the engine with it’s turbo charger. Top front end view. The carbon fibre box at the top of the turbo charger should be part of the controll unit for the VTG- variable turbine geometry.

A small explanation of the turbo charger system. I also did a few very simple thermodynamical calculations for imagination of the loads of the system. See picture for values. t0=20°C,p0=1bar

Exhaust turbine (silver one)
Black arrows: exhaust gases, combustion temperature of around 2000°C, exit temperature of valued 900°C; red arrow: exhaust gases from the turbine exit, led to the catalyst;
air compressor (black one)
light blue arrow: air from the airbox, slight pressure increase by dynamic pressure of the car speed through the airbox into the laval nozzle with the air restrictor; red arrows: compressed air from the compressor to the intercoolers (not in the calculations – heat flow from the hot exhaust turbine to the compressor); dark blue arrows; air from the intercoolers to the air collectors which are feeding the cylinders

Turbo chager system

The engine placed at the monocoque.

The monocoque, finished to finish with the last layer of a matt lacquer.

One other small unattracitive detail – the Audi ultra letters above the windscreen… They should be curved.

Tags: , , , , ,

About paulsf1

My name is Paul Bischof. I’m a student in mechanical engineering at the Technical University of Graz in Austria, expected finishing in February 2016. Since I was eight years old, I am building model planes out of paperboard. Since 2004 I scratch (that means building without an assembling set) Formula 1 and sportscars in 1:10th scale. The average time I need for such a car is around 400 to 700 hours within 4 to 8 months. One car has around 3500 up to 5000 single components. On this blog, you can take a look on my work and later, after my studies, hopefully you can see me in Formula 1.

Leave a Reply

