technical news on the R18TDI

There are a few good news regarding my Audi model. Shortly I discovered a new pic of the R18s bare monocoque. Even if there’s no progress of building at the moment – I’m afraid the next update will appear at the start of my summer holiday which will be in the second week of July –  there are a few interesting things going on.

First of all, the new pic of the monocoque. Actually it’s not a new pic, because it’s from the 2011 car, but I didn’t knew it before and I’m pretty sure many others too. I search through the net every few weeks, especially after a WEC race or test in the hope for new technical pictures. Next stations will be the Le mans pre test this Sunday (3rd of June) and the 24 hours of Le Mans which held on 16–17 June. At the picture you can see a few small differences between the real one and my one. But I’m pretty satisfied with my research work. I started building the car with no pictures of the bare monocoque, everything based on thinking, analysing pics of the whole car and the McNish accident car. Look at the comparison below.

Secondly, on the occation of the upcoming Le Mans race, Audi published some great shots of their 3.7l V6 engine with it’s unique single turbo charger. The point of time couldn’t be better for me in terms of the upcoming engine manufacturing at my project. Read the Audi Press release on VTG technology for Le Mans success.

A few pics of the engine:
3,7l V6TDI engine
Garret turbo charger
at the engine test bed

As I said before, from 16th to 17th June, the 24 hours of Le Mans takes place at the Circuit de la Sarthe for the 80th time. The two cars which contests the race for Audi (R18 ultra and R18 e-tron quattro) are quite different to my one, that is the 2011 Audi, called R18TDI. The R18 ultra is an evolution of the TDI with an improved monocoque (about 10cm longer) and enhanced light weight technology and some different upgrades at the engine and the cars aerodynamics and a completely new fully carbon fibre gearbox housing. The R18 e-tron quattro is, as you can read in the name, a (partly) all wheel driven hybrid car. The configuration is exactly the same as the ultra but with a flywheel accumulator system for the front axle.

My monocoque. I’ve marked the differences, or mistakes, call it what do you want. At the rear, a cut is missing, I guess for cooling pipes. But that’s not tragical, because the radiator(s) will cover this almost completely. The circle at the front markes the missing cut for the spring rocker arm, I knew that before but here a small bump will cover this later. The only real bad thing is the design of the keel. You can form your own opinion about this. I’m not that satisfied with this. Also the direction of the carbon fibre structure is wrong at that area.

That’s the real one. There are a few things missing at my one, but in generally it looks quite equal.
Source: http://carfanaticsforum.com/thread-9533.html

Tags: , ,

About paulsf1

My name is Paul Bischof. I’m a student in mechanical engineering at the Technical University of Graz in Austria, expected finishing in February 2016. Since I was eight years old, I am building model planes out of paperboard. Since 2004 I scratch (that means building without an assembling set) Formula 1 and sportscars in 1:10th scale. The average time I need for such a car is around 400 to 700 hours within 4 to 8 months. One car has around 3500 up to 5000 single components. On this blog, you can take a look on my work and later, after my studies, hopefully you can see me in Formula 1.

One response to “technical news on the R18TDI”

  1. RicME85 says :

    I can understand your feelings towards the mistakes but at the same time…give your self a break! Your models are truly stunning, I know you strive for perfection but a few little things like this wont ruin anything.

    Good luck with this project!

    Like

Leave a Reply

