fire extinguisher and pedal arrangement

In small pieces, the progress of the R18 is coming. The reason is, that I try to improve the quality I’ve reached with the RB7. Therefore it takes his time to build a brake pedal or a brake master cylinder (not to mention a fire extinguisher).

The last days, I began to build some details of the inside of the monocoque. The first things were the pedal arrangement and the fire extinguisher. In the meantime, I’ve also began to build the seat. The extinguisher itself is fitted to the monocoque by two metal stripes, as the regulations tells you. I couldn’t find pictures of the R18s extinguisher, so I orientated at the R15. Call me what do you want, freak, nerd, or whatever comes in your mind. It took me about three hours to build the extinguisher and another five ones to finish it with a clear lacquer. After fitting it to the monocoque, it’s covered by a paper sheet. So, nobody will see the extinguisher afterwards. Three hours of work and a high end detailed part is gone forever… But with my current knowledge of racing cars, I can’t take the responsibility for leaving away the extinguisher. :wink:

At the end to the pedals. No fear there, they can be seen through the big hole at the front of the monocoque with removed front bodywork afterwards. The two master cylinders are mounted, but the front one isn’t connected yet. Brake bias adjustment system is electrical I think, so I’ve to detect a place for an electric motor.

Here you can see the mounted pedal arrangement and the fire extinguisher.

The mounted fire extinguisher. I took help from SPA Design - Race Car Fire Extinguishers.

Under this matt paper sheet, the extinguisher disapeared.

At the pedal arrangement, work is under progress.

About paulsf1

My name is Paul Bischof. I’m a student in mechanical engineering at the Technical University of Graz in Austria, expected finishing in February 2016. Since I was eight years old, I am building model planes out of paperboard. Since 2004 I scratch (that means building without an assembling set) Formula 1 and sportscars in 1:10th scale. The average time I need for such a car is around 400 to 700 hours within 4 to 8 months. One car has around 3500 up to 5000 single components. On this blog, you can take a look on my work and later, after my studies, hopefully you can see me in Formula 1.

Leave a Reply

