continuing the Audi R18TDI’s Monocoque

After a few weeks of learning, I found again time to continue my work on the Audi. It took me a long time to get back into it again. It’s very difficult to find out the inner shape of the monocoque with the quite less graphical material of the monocoques inside. Now I think, I should be able to build it.

Because of that reason, the building progress isn’t quite great. I covered the whole lower part of the monocoque with the carbon fibre texture and inserted a few details. That’s it. Audi built the whole monocoque in one part. I am not able to do that out of the reason, that I won’t be able to add the inner details like pedals, seat, steering column or electronics with a closed monocoque – although I’ll make the car with opening doors.

Before I'm going to conglutinate the three parts of the monocoque, I've to fit every detail inside every part.

Tags:

About paulsf1

My name is Paul Bischof. I’m a student in mechanical engineering at the Technical University of Graz in Austria, expected finishing in February 2016. Since I was eight years old, I am building model planes out of paperboard. Since 2004 I scratch (that means building without an assembling set) Formula 1 and sportscars in 1:10th scale. The average time I need for such a car is around 400 to 700 hours within 4 to 8 months. One car has around 3500 up to 5000 single components. On this blog, you can take a look on my work and later, after my studies, hopefully you can see me in Formula 1.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Awesome Thread... [Automotive Edition] - Page 479 - March 21st, 2012

Leave a Reply

