christmas report

A christmas report! Short analysis, what’s missing?

  • rear bodywork
  • steering wheel, seat and belts in the cockpit
  • antennas
  • brakes
  • engine cover
  • barge boards
  • wheels
  • rear wing
  • heat shields at the engine

You see, it’s not that much. With a little bit of luck and motivation, the car could be finished at the end of January.

The manufacturing and fitting of the cockpit internals was very nerve-racking. I’ve let a few cries of rage. Not necessarily because of the small and complex parts, rather than the mounting in the very tight and small cockpit area. It seemed to be, that I’ve very skilled fingers, but that was too much. Anyhow, now the most parts are fitted and the car has no enduring injuries (excet that damn glue dot :cry: ).

Here you can see the switch panel with the "auxiliary", the ignition and the fire extinguisher switch. Behind that, there are the FIA stickers. Even though I don't make the car in a specified version or race, I've fitted the circuit layout of Valencia. Beneath is the sticker for passing the acceptance procedure by the FIA and at the bottom there is the insignia of the factory "Bradbourne Drive Milton Keynes UK".

At the left side, ther's the brake bias lever and the radio equipment.

For christmas celebration a few pictures of the whole car, to get you an imagination, how far it’s to the finish line.

Now, it's constantly looking more and more like a racing car.

I've building models for a long time (actually 15 years), but that car is so ingenious, so cleanly. Especially the finishing is very well. I'm very satisfied with that car to time.

It's amazing, that the nose is still holding that well. After hundrets of pit stops with nose changes by my curious colleagues (I think they try to test the mechanical static strenght of that connection 😀 ) the nose is like at the first day.

Carbon-fibre acts (although the texture is a little bit too chunky).

I've never done before such a felicitous radiator-engine-exhaust package. Sure it was an advantage, that RB covered the exhaust system with that carbon-fibre sheat. Otherwise it wouldn't be that "easy".

Hope the RB8 will be also that beautiful.

A nice christmas to everyone, stay following
christmas greetings
Paul

Tags: , , ,

About paulsf1

My name is Paul Bischof. I’m a student in mechanical engineering at the Technical University of Graz in Austria, expected finishing in February 2016. Since I was eight years old, I am building model planes out of paperboard. Since 2004 I scratch (that means building without an assembling set) Formula 1 and sportscars in 1:10th scale. The average time I need for such a car is around 400 to 700 hours within 4 to 8 months. One car has around 3500 up to 5000 single components. On this blog, you can take a look on my work and later, after my studies, hopefully you can see me in Formula 1.

Leave a Reply

