Porsche 917 construction report part 5 end report

The last part of my compacted construction report. In march 2011, I finished the Porsche 917, by the way my first non Formula 1 car. The most ardous work was to manufacture the pattern for the Firestone rain tyres. The most difficult, as I say in my former post, the construcion and manufacturing of the bodywork. For it after hours and hours of cutting it looks very well – It was also my first rain tyre. Of course the Porsche has much things I’ve never built before. A Formula 1 car needs no wiper, big windscreen, ect.

For looking more realistic, I put a little bit of dirt on the car.

The wiper with its cleaning agent. The long bar is out of metal, just a paper roll would have been to less robust.

The finished front, my absolut masterpiece in modelling... Even the CIBIE logo, I folded on the wrong corner - look at pictures of Le Mans 1970.

The brake calipers.

The monted brake disc at the right front. For sure the ventilation vanes of the disc are tilted like their big original.

The finished right rear suspension.

The underside.

The car, mainly finished, is waiting for its tyres. There at the rear, you can see the reserve tyre, lifting jack and the wrench.

Hours of work for these profil stripes.

The base form of the wheels.

A finished front tyre.

Rear wing. Normaly, I wouldn't put such a frame inside the wing, but on the Porsche you can see that through the aluminium cover.

Yeah, it looks good, I'm satisfied withthat car. Who is it as well? 😉

Tags: , ,

About paulsf1

My name is Paul Bischof. I’m a student in mechanical engineering at the Technical University of Graz in Austria, expected finishing in February 2016. Since I was eight years old, I am building model planes out of paperboard. Since 2004 I scratch (that means building without an assembling set) Formula 1 and sportscars in 1:10th scale. The average time I need for such a car is around 400 to 700 hours within 4 to 8 months. One car has around 3500 up to 5000 single components. On this blog, you can take a look on my work and later, after my studies, hopefully you can see me in Formula 1.

3 responses to “Porsche 917 construction report part 5 end report”

  1. anderson says :

    Hello, you put this model to download?

    Like

  2. pipe Manipulation says :

    An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a coworker who was conducting a little research on this.
    And he actually bought me lunch due to the fact that I discovered it for him…
    lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!!

    But yeah, thanx for spending time to discuss this matter here on your web page.

    Like

Leave a Reply

