Porsche 917 construction report part 4 bodywork

At the weekend, ultimately the RB7 will go on. My exams are over then and I have much time afresh. Till then, you can look at one of the last steps of my Porsche 917. The bodywork was one of the most difficult jobs I’ve to do at that car – it will be the same with the engine cover of the Red Bull.

Anyway, the bodywork became very well. Intentionally I choose the “Hippie” Porsche of Le Mans 1970 because I know of the possibility to cover the cutting edges with the characteristic green-white stripes of the hippie- desing. But that was one of my best works in my modelling career to get that bodywork that close to the original one. It’s one of the big problems in paperboard modelling, that you can only build developable parts. That means, no plane which is bent in two directions – shortly, no ball shape.

That was the first prototype of the very complex shaped front cover.

The final part, a little bit asymetrically, because also the tube frame is not completely symmetrical. But the original Porsches also weren't that.

The cover glued to the car. The cutting edges at the front I covered later with the green-white "Hippie"- Stripes.

The wheel housings were also very complex, because they hadn't a constant radius.

But at the end, the front cover can convinience of itself.

The rear bodywork wasn't that difficult. The only cutting edge at the side I know to cover with the "hippie"- desing.

Before I fitted the door, I had to fit the last cockpit internals and fasten the glass planes.

Here a few pictures of the drivers lettering at the door to show you how big they are.

That's a normal finger of a 21 year old guy with a 1:10th Porsche 917 letter on it. 😉

And here's (a part of) the lettering.

Tags: , , ,

About paulsf1

My name is Paul Bischof. I’m a student in mechanical engineering at the Technical University of Graz in Austria, expected finishing in February 2016. Since I was eight years old, I am building model planes out of paperboard. Since 2004 I scratch (that means building without an assembling set) Formula 1 and sportscars in 1:10th scale. The average time I need for such a car is around 400 to 700 hours within 4 to 8 months. One car has around 3500 up to 5000 single components. On this blog, you can take a look on my work and later, after my studies, hopefully you can see me in Formula 1.

Leave a Reply

