Porsche 917 construction report part 2 engine

From mid-October 2010 I worked about two weeks at the 12 cylinder engine of the Porsche 917. The original takes his power of about 426kW (580Hp) at 8400/min and a torque of 510Nm at 6800 out of 4494cm³. The weight of the air cooled engine is 260kg. My motor didn’t reach that values, but he has the beauty of german engineering art. In the Porsche book there were very much information that I could built in my engine. For example, my engine has the right firing-and ignition order (1-9-5-12-3-8-6-10-2-7-4-11). That means, they are in that way mounted on the fuel pump and the distributer.

The beginning of the engine block. It's built out of cardboard and painted with watercolour.

That's the pure engine block with the big ventilator on it. That's also the biggest mistake on the car. Don't blame me, the fan rotates on the wrong direction :-/. The 917 should attract air cooled production cars such like the VW Käfer.

And here it is: the Porsche 912 called endurance engine for the type 917. It looks very massive, but also very beautiful.

The rear side of the engine. That small spring you can see here (for the throttle valve) is the only part which is not out of paper. It's diameter is about 2mm.

Front side of the engine. As you can see, also the electric wires are from paper.

After attaching the engine to the tube frame. The space was very rare, so I broke a little part of the ignition system when I installed the machine.

And that's how it's looking after one and a half month of building.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About paulsf1

My name is Paul Bischof. I’m a student in mechanical engineering at the Technical University of Graz in Austria, expected finishing in February 2016. Since I was eight years old, I am building model planes out of paperboard. Since 2004 I scratch (that means building without an assembling set) Formula 1 and sportscars in 1:10th scale. The average time I need for such a car is around 400 to 700 hours within 4 to 8 months. One car has around 3500 up to 5000 single components. On this blog, you can take a look on my work and later, after my studies, hopefully you can see me in Formula 1.

Leave a Reply

