Lotus 79R2 of Ronnie Peterson at the Austrian GP 1978

My second last car I’ve finished, was the Lotus 79R2 of Ronnie Peterson. At the end it has more than 3700 parts. It has a weight of about 350g. It was the first car, i made with demountable bodywork and it was also the first car, I finished with a clear lacquer. And it went very well. I took use of a few factory drawings of Team Lotus, Cosworth and Hewland. The Hewland are the only drawings which are public (at http://www.hewland.com). The others I get from a modeller friend. The car itself is very good, only the front cover is a little bit unshaped. But if you don’t know that, you won’t see it.

The fully covered Lotus 79.

I made a diorama around the car, and maybe you think, that’s not possible, but it’s everything, except the concrete wall, out of paper.

Lotus 79 in it's box at the GP of Austria 1978.

I built the configuration of the Austrian GP (surely the Austrian, my home country) 1978. For example the oil radiators are vera different from the aunt Sanish GP configuration and also a few small things, for example the engine or cross section of the lower wishbones is different. Help for this things I get of this great book of John Tipler:

http://www.amazon.de/Lotus-78-79-Ground-Effect/dp/1847971431/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1313840520&sr=8-5

Now, here you can see a few detail photos:

A grubby mechanics forgot his documents on the front wing. 😉

The cockpit looks more like a fighter than a car.

A few years later, the FIA regulations for minimum cockpit dimensions.

A little bit gearbox oil on the floor. It seemed, that the cardboard gearbox is not complete leak proof. 🙂

A John Nicholson tuned Cosworth DFV engine.

And again the Hewland DG Gearbox.

The Cosworth DFV.

Allthought I'm not smoing, I love this black and gold John Player Special!

A beautiful side elevation of the stripped car.

The ground effect side pods.

The nose cone with it's small motorbike batterie.

And a beautiful picture at the end.

The full construction report in german you could read here.

http://www.modellboard.net/index.php?topic=31799.0

Tags: , , ,

About paulsf1

My name is Paul Bischof. I’m a student in mechanical engineering at the Technical University of Graz in Austria, expected finishing in February 2016. Since I was eight years old, I am building model planes out of paperboard. Since 2004 I scratch (that means building without an assembling set) Formula 1 and sportscars in 1:10th scale. The average time I need for such a car is around 400 to 700 hours within 4 to 8 months. One car has around 3500 up to 5000 single components. On this blog, you can take a look on my work and later, after my studies, hopefully you can see me in Formula 1.

One response to “Lotus 79R2 of Ronnie Peterson at the Austrian GP 1978”

  1. Super Swede says :

    Reblogged this on F1 Super Swede and commented:
    Check out this magnificent model of the Lotus 79 that Ronnie Peterson drove at the 1978 Austrian GP. The model is built from scratch out of paperboard by Paul from Austria. Make sure to also visit paulsf1.wordpress.com to see some of the other models made by Paul.

    Like

Leave a Reply

