Starting the Red Bull RB7 Renault

Last year in October I started to built the Formula 1 World Championship car of  the Red Bull Racing Team, the RB6 Renault. Poorly I had to cancel the manufacturing of that car, because I made to many mistakes. After I finished another car, the famous Porsche 917, I started to build the RB7. With the knowledge I won in the manufacturing of the RB6, I’m very confident, that the RB7 will be great, when he will be finished.

After about 250 hours of manufacturing, I canceled the RB6.

Then, in April 2011, after reading the 2011 FIA F1 Technical Regulations and about two months of searching and generate information, pictures and technical drawings, I started to built this car.

The first building block was to generate the shape of the monocoque.

Then I was back in Graz (which is around 410 miles away from my home town) for two months, and the manufacturing of the RB7 was interrupted. In July I came back home and continued.

The shape was covered by a blue cardboard layer and the very well formed side pods and the airbox were added.

With the added side pods and airbox, you could imagine the later shape of the car.

After I glued all sponsoring and partnership logos on the monocoque, I began to varnish the car. Yesterday i finished the water and oil radiators. The next things will be engine and gearbox drivetrain.

After about 110 hours, the monocoque of the RB7 is already finished.

Tags: ,

About paulsf1

My name is Paul Bischof. I’m a student in mechanical engineering at the Technical University of Graz in Austria, expected finishing in February 2016. Since I was eight years old, I am building model planes out of paperboard. Since 2004 I scratch (that means building without an assembling set) Formula 1 and sportscars in 1:10th scale. The average time I need for such a car is around 400 to 700 hours within 4 to 8 months. One car has around 3500 up to 5000 single components. On this blog, you can take a look on my work and later, after my studies, hopefully you can see me in Formula 1.

Leave a Reply

